Calling all artists between the ages of 6 and 17

International Youth Aviation Art Contest

Ages 6 – 17

“Flight into the Future”

Since 1989 the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale (FAI) has sponsored the International Aviation Art Contest to challenge young people to illustrate the importance of aviation through art. Demonstrating the impact of aeronautics through an interactive, fun medium such as art motivates youth of all ages to become more familiar with aeronautics, engineering and science. The U.S. portion of the contest is sanctioned by the National Aeronautic Association (NAA), managed by the NASAO Center for Aviation Research and Education and sponsored by Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Prescott, Ken Cook Co., the Federal Aviation Administration, and the National Coalition for Aviation and Space Education
with additional support from NASAO members.Children between the ages of 6 and 17 may participate. Entries will be judged in three classes, according to age and at least in part for its creative use of the theme in relation to the aviation world. Each FAI member country sponsors the contest in their country, and submits national winners to the International Jury each year.

This year’s theme focuses on ‘Flight into the Future.’

Grab your favorite art supplies and turn your imagination loose. The only limit to the future of flight is the creativity of builders, dreamers and pilots of today. Show us your vision of what new innovations and ideas will shape the aviation of the future.

Entries will be judged on the creative use of the theme. The top three entries in each of the age categories will advance to the national competition and be awarded the following prizes:

 

2018 INTERNATIONAL AVIATION ART CONTEST

2018 Aviation Art Contest Brochure

Deadline Friday, January 19, 2018.

Theme

Eligibility

Contest Rules

Awards

Where to Submit

All artwork sent to state representatives must be postmarked by Friday, January 19, 2018.

WHERE TO SUBMIT

Alabama
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877
 
Alaska
Linda Bustamante
Alaska DOT & PF Statewide Aviation
P.O. Box 196900
Anchorage, AK 99513-7587
Linda.bustamante@alaska.gov
(907) 266-2596

Arizona
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu

Phone (928) 777-3877

Arkansas
Richard Mills
Arkansas Department of Aeronautics
2315 Crisp Drive, Hangar 8
Little Rock, AR 72202
richard.mills@mail.state.ar.us
Phone (501) 376-6781

California
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Prescott, AZ 86301
Phone (928) 777-3877

Colorado
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Connecticut
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Delaware
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Florida

Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Georgia
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Guam

Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877
 
Hawaii
Henry Bruckner
Hawaii Department of Transportation Airports Division
Honolulu International Airport
400 Rodgers Blvd., Suite 700
Honolulu, HI 96819-1880
henry.p.bruckner@hawaii.gov
Phone (808) 838-8701
 
Idaho
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Illinois
Prudence Draper
Illinois Department of Transportation
Division of Aeronautics
1 Langhorne Bond Drive
Springfield, Illinois 62707-8415
Phone (217) 524-8825
Prudence.Draper@Illinois.gov

Indiana
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877
 
Iowa
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Kansas
Trever Linn
Manager of Marketing & Outreach
Division of Aviation
Kansas Department of Transportation
700 SW Harrison St., 9th Floor
Topeka, KS  66603
trever.linn@kansas.gov
785-296-2442

Kentucky
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877
 
Louisiana

Tonjia Summerell
Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development
1201 Capitol Access Road
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Tonjia.summerell@la.gov
Phone (225) 379-3053

Maine
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877
 
Maryland
Tiffany Turner-Davis
Maryland Aviation Administration/Regional Aviation
7005 Aviation Boulevard
Tturner-davis@bwiairport.com
Glen Burnie, MD  21061
Phone (410) 859-7064
 
Massachusettes
Steven Rawding
Massachusetts Department of Transportation
Aeronautics Division
Logan Office Center
One Harborside Drive, Suite 205N
East Boston, MA 02128-2909
steven.rawding@state.ma.us
Phone (617) 412-3691

Michigan
Leanne Hengesbach
Office of Aeronautics
2700 Port Lansing Rd.
Lansing, MI 48906
hengesbachL@michigan.gov
Phone (517) 335-9756 

Minnesota
Shalette Cauley-Wandrick
Minnesota Department  of Transportation,  Aeronautics
222 E. Plato Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55107
shalette.cauley-wandrick@state.mn.us
Phone (651) 234-7180

Mississippi

Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877
 
Missouri
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928)-777-3877

Montana

Harold Dramstad
2630 Airport Road
Helena, MT 59620
hdramstad@mt.gov
Phone 406-444-9568

Nebraska
David Morris
Nebraska Department of Aeronautics
PO Box 82088
Lincoln, NE 68501
david.morris@nebraska.gov
Phone (402) 471-2371

Nevada
Kurt Haukohl
State Aviation Manager
Nevada Department of Transportation
1263 S. Stewart St
Carson City, NV 89712
khaukohl@dot.state.nv.us
Phone (775) 888-7353

New Hampshire
Danielle R. Plant
Division of Aeronautics Rail and Transit
New Hampshire Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 483
Concord, NH 03302-0483
Danielle.Plant@dot.nh.gov
Phone (603) 271-1094 

New Jersey
Clare Mansfield
New Jersey Department of Transportation
Division of Aeronautics
P.O. Box 600
Trenton, NJ 08618
Clare.Mansfield@dot.state.nj.us
Phone (609) 530-2903
 
New Mexico
Ron Keller
Aviation Division
New Mexico Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9830
Albuquerque, NM 87119
ron.keller@state.nm.us
Phone (505) 244-1788 Ext. 111

New York
Donna Ann Harze
Federal Aviation Administration
1 Aviation Plaza
Jamaica, NY 11434-4809
Donna.Ann.Harze@faa.gov
Phone (718) 553-3368

North Carolina
Corbi Bulluck
NC DOT Division of Aviation
1560 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1560
cbulluck@ncdot.gov
Phone (919) 814-0552

North Dakota
Mike McHugh
North Dakota Aeronautics
Commission
2301 University Dr
Bismarck, ND 58504
mmchugh@nd.gov
Phone (701) 328-9653

Ohio
Mark Fields
Ohio Department of Transportation
Office of Aviation
2829 West Dublin-Granville Rd
Columbus OH 43235
mark.fields@dot.ohio.gov
Phone (614) 387-2359

Oklahoma
Sandra Shelton
Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission
110 N. Robinson Ave., Ste. 200
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
sshelton@oac.ok.gov
Phone (405) 604-6915

 

Oregon
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Pennsylvania
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@erau.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Puerto Rico
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Rhode Island

Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

South Carolina

James Stephens
South Carolina Aeronautics Commission
2553 Airport Blvd
West Columbia, SC 29170-2142
jstephens@aeronautics.sc.gov
Phone (803) 896-6272

South Dakota
Jennifer Boehm
South Dakota Dept. of Transportation
Office of Local Transportation Programs
700 East Broadway Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
jennifer.boehm@state.sd.us
Phone (605) 773-4430
 
Tennessee
Brian Fedders
TDOT – Aeronautics Division
607 Hangar Lane, Bldg. 4219
P.O. Box 17326
Nashville, TN 37217
brian.fedders@tn.gov
Phone (615) 741-1785

Texas
Laura Gonzalez
150 E. Riverside Dr.
Austin, Texas  78704
laura.gonzalez@txdot.gov
Phone (512) 416-4521

Utah
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Vermont
Ryan Ollis
Aviation Education Coordinator/ Operations Specialist
Agency of Transportation
National Life Building, Drawer 33
Montpelier, VT 5633
ryan.ollis@state.vt.us
802-828-3554

Virginia
Betty Wilson
Virginia Dept. of Aviation
5702 Gulfstream Road
Richmond, VA 23250-2422
betty.wilson@doav.virginia.gov
Phone (804) 225-3783 ext. 107

Washington
Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

West Virginia

Kathy Hill
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
3700 Willow Creek Road
Prescott, AZ 86301
kathy.hill@ERAU.edu
Phone (928) 777-3877

Wisconsin
Meredith Alt
Wisconsin Department of Transportation – Bureau of Aeronautics
4802 Sheboygan Avenue Room 701
Madison, WI 53707-7914
meredithl.alt@dot.wi.gov
Phone (608) 266-8166
 
Wyoming

Michele Whipple
Wyoming Department of Transportation
200 E. 8th Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82009
michele.whipple@dot.state.wy.us
Phone (307) 777-3952

AWARDS

STATE AWARDS
Entries in each age group are judged and state winners and runners-up are selected. Winners receive recognition from their state. The top three entries in each age group are forwarded to Washington D.C. to be judged in the national competition.

NATIONAL AWARDS
1st, 2nd and 3rd place national winners are selected from each age group. All national winners receive certificates, ribbons and a framed reproduction of their artwork with the original being forwarded to FAI for the international competition.

INTERNATIONAL AWARDS
Winners of the international competition receive certificates and gold, silver, or bronze medals.

. All entries must be postmarked by Friday, January 19, 2018.

 

Special thank you to Meredith Alt,
Wisconsin Department of Transportation – Bureau of Aeronautics